FFA Chapters Recognize Service at Third Session of State FFA Convention

2013-05-01T09:53:00Z FFA Chapters Recognize Service at Third Session of State FFA Convention Minnesota Farm Guide
May 01, 2013 9:53 am

Minnesota FFA chapters and individuals were recognized for their service to FFA, agricultural education and their communities at the third general session of the 84th Minnesota FFA Convention at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities.

Camp Courage and Courage Center

A total of 57 chapters were recognized for their contributions to Camp Courage and Courage Center programs.

Contributing in 2012-2013 were: ACGC, Alden Conger, Belle Plaine, Blooming Prairie, Blue Earth Area, BOLD 212, Buffalo, BLHS, Cedar Mountain, Dassel Cokato, Dawson Boyd, Fillmore Central, Foley, GFW Pioneer Express, Glencoe Silver Lake, Glenville Emmons, Goodhue, Hawley, Hayfield, Howard Lake Waverly Winsted, Lac qui Parle Valley, Lakeview, LeRoy Ostrander, Lewiston Altura, Long Prairie Grey Eagle, Luverne Adrian, MACCRAY, Madelia, Marshall, Martin County West, Milaca, Mora, Montevideo, Morris Area, Murray County West, NRHEG, New Ulm, Norwood YA, Owatonna, Paynesville, PEM, Pine Island, Princeton, Randolph, Redwood Valley, Sibley East, Southland, Spring Valley Wykoff, Springfield, Stewartville, Tracy Area, Truman, United South Central, Wabasso, Waseca, Watertown Mayer, and Zumbrota Mazeppa.

FFA Chapters in Minnesota have been donating to the Courage Center programs for over 60 years. Chapters are encouraged to participate in a variety of events to raise funds for the organization; many conduct a corn drive each fall. The Minnesota FFA Association is excited to continue such an outstanding partnership with Camp Courage.

Membership Awards

Each year, chapters are encouraged to maintain and increase the membership within their chapter. Chapters were also recognized for the percentage of students enrolled in agricultural education courses involved in the FFA program.

FFA Chapters recognized for affiliate membership were: AFSA, Chatfield, Dassel Cokato, Hutchinson, New Ulm, Red Wing, Tracy Area, and Upsala.

FFA Chapters recognized for obtaining 100 percent membership were: AFSA, Browerville, Dassel Cokato, Fairmont, Forest Lake, Howard Lake Waverly Winsted, Hutchinson, Jackson County Central, Kerkhoven Murdock Sunberg, Mahnomen, Morris Area, New Ulm, Randolph, Red Wing, Sibley East, Sleepy Eye, Tracy Area, and Upsala.

Land of Service

The 2012-2013 Minnesota FFA State Officer team challenged chapters throughout the year to conduct service projects.

Chapters were encouraged to log their hours and activities to participate in the competition against other chapters throughout the state.

FFA chapters recognized for service were: Ada-Borup, AFSA, Cedar Mountain, Eagle Valley, Detroit Lakes, Foley, Forest Lake, Glencoe Silver Lake, Hawley, Howard Lake Waverly Winsted, Hutchinson, Jackson County Central, Lewiston Altura, Martin County West, Milaca, Morris Area, New London Spicer, Norman County West, Norwood YA, Princeton, Sleepy Eye, Spring Valley Wykoff, Springfield, Triton, and Winona.

Chapter Exchange of Ideas

Chapters were encouraged to create displays about their events and showcase them at the 84th Minnesota FFA Convention at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities.

Winners were announced at the third general session. Top chapters in student development were: Hutchinson, Red Wing, and Sleepy Eye. Top chapters in chapter development were Hutchinson, Morris, and Sleepy Eye. Top chapters in community development were: Howard Lake Waverly Winsted, Hutchinson, and Morris.

Alumni Awards

Outstanding alumni members were also recognized during the session. The Outstanding FFA Alumni member award is awarded to someone who has made significant contributions to the Alumni Association on the local and state level.

This year’s recipient was Jim Salfer of the Dassel-Cokato FFA Alumni.

The Outstanding Young FFA Alumni gives recognition to an individual who is new to the FFA Alumni Association and recently graduated from high school or college. This year’s recipient was Esther Koehl of the Stevens County FFA Alumni.

The Outstanding Alumni Coaching award is given to an alumni member that have greatly assisted an FFA chapter with Career Development Events on a local, state and national level. This award was given to Kevin Dahlman of the Dassel-Cokato FFA Alumni.

Finally, an Outstanding FFA Alumni Affiliate is awarded to an entire group that has worked to increase membership and is very involved in their local FFA chapter and community. This award was given to the Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg.

Individuals wishing to nominate individuals or affiliates for the 2013 awards should visit www.mnffaalumni.org.

Copyright 2015 Minnesota Farm Guide. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Market Data provided by Barchart.com